Search The Library Catalog

Databases

All of these databases can be used at the library, or from any computer with an internet connection.

Databases available for Bayonne Public Library Cardholders

All of the following databases can be used at the library or from any device with an internet connection. When using these databases outside of the library, you will be prompted to enter your library card number. Enter all the numbers on the back of your library card with no spaces.

If you have difficulty with your card, please email our Outreach Librarian, Melody, at [email protected]

 

Databases for Adults

(Scroll down for databases for kids!)

 

Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.

 

Ancestry® Library Edition  (In-Library Use Only)

Ancestry® Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. Answers await everyone—whether professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist or historian—inside the more than 7,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

 

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc.

 

Gale Biography in Context

Gale Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

 

Health Source: Academic/Nursing Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

 

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

 

Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

 

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

 

LISTA (Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts)

LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

 

MasterFILE Elite

MasterFILE Elite provides full text for magazines and publications covering many general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.

 

Military & Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

 

Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

 

Novelist

A reader’s advisory resource for fiction. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.

 

Peterson's Test & Career Prep

Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.

 

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Great for learning about different sides of an issue, pros and cons, etc.

 

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

 

Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)

Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents. TO ACCESS REFERENCE SOLUTIONS, YOU MUST USE THE ABOVE LINK, SCROLL DOWN, AND CLICK ON "REFERENCE SOLUTIONS".

 

Referencia Latina

Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.

 

Small Business Reference Center

Business information on many topics such as starting a business, creating a business plan, expanding or closing a business, legal issues, etc.
Includes the full text of many Nolo business titles , including Women’s Small Business Start-Up Kit, the Complete Guide to Buying a Business, The Employer’s Legal Handbook and many others.

 

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

 

 

Just For Kids

Middle Search  

Great for middle school students! This database contains full text for popular middle school magazines, full-text biographies and historical essays. In addition, it includes primary source documents, reference books and a vast image collection.

Primary Search

Great for elementary school students! This database contains full text for popular children's magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, such as endangered species, famous musicians, fitness, space exploration and more.

Novelist K-8

Need suggestions on what to read next? Need a biography of a particular author? Try Novelist K-8 Plus! Also great for teachers or parents who are supporting young readers.

 

For more information, please contact Melody Scagnelli-Townley, the Outreach Librarian, or Bill Fischer, the Adult Services Librarian, at (201) 858-6980.

chat loading...